Middle of Memories


imageDescribing what happened in El Salvador seems impossibly hard. Even after these couple days at home, I find it difficult to express the people and experiences I continually see in my mind’s eye. I don’t understand everything God did and the pieces don’t fit together like a puzzle as they should. I see snapshots only snapshots and two-second videos. I see a picture of a guy named Elias and another Ivy & I. I see a video, running slowly through my mind of us praying as one—voices, hearts, and lives lifted high to a God who understood both Spanish & English. Hearing words spoken to me by two women of God named Amy & Tammy, I am encouraged by the plans God has for my life and future ministry. I see smiles and laughter and moments which I will never forget.

image

imageBut I’m not sure how to process it all; I’m not sure how everything fits into my life here in the States. I understood that God made me ready to come home, but to return here and live changed in what ways? Because I was changed—we all were changed. Through the Master’s Commision students and the times of prayer and the ways in which God individually spoke to us, we were changed last week. In the Master’s Commision students, we saw the fire of God and how it directed everything they did. We experienced the power of prayer when God healed people and breathed his Holy Spirit into us and answered the cries of our hearts. Many of us had a clearer vision of his plans for our lives. We heard God speak and we saw God move and we felt God grow in us, individually & corporately. And yet, how do we grow in and use those things here at home everyday? How do we live lives that reflect the changes he made in us? How can we stay the same, yet how do we live differently?

image

I struggle with these questions. I don’t know the answers and every time I sit down to write, I feel more lost and confused.

But I do know one thing.

I know that he is enough. All we need is Christ Jesus and he will complete the work in us that needs to be finished. He will help us apply the lessons we learned and grow through the things we experienced. The only thing we need to do is invite him, like we did in the Prayer Tower. The God who met us there is the same God who lives with us here.

image

In these past two days, I prayed. I sought. I asked. And he made himself know. He lifts my soul and uncovers the tools I need and reminds me of the lessons I learned. He shows up for me.image

I know he’ll do the same for the rest of us. We only need to let him in to meet & ask & share with him, because he will help us sort through everything we experience this past week. He’s God and we know he loves his children.

Make time to find him in the middle of the memories.

And I am sure of this, that he who began a good work in you will bring it to completion at the day of Jesus Christ. (Philippians 1:6 ESV)

image

5 thoughts on “Middle of Memories

  1. I have a question for you, how do you make your blog updates come up with the first paragraph and then you need to click through to see more. I want to do this for my blog but I don’t know how to do it. Thanks! God bless you!

    In His Hands, Brandi Wilcox Missionary to Cambodia http://www.brandincambodia.com

    >

      1. Like when I get your blog updates to my inbox it comes up with only the first paragraph making the reader click onto your blog to see more. Do you know how it does that? I want mine to do it, but I don’t know how.

        1. Oh, yes! I believe it is in Settings>Reading> if you scroll down under that tab, go to “For each article in feed, show…” Then click “Summary.” I believe that is it, but I’m not sure. If it’s not, just look around in settings.

Comment

