A Life Called Sacrifice


I’m treading water in the middle of a sea of knowledge, one in which I had never wished to swim. In the midst of these waters — these school books and school fears and school work — I wonder what I’m doing. Are any of these days making any difference? Do they really matter at all? Are they counting for something bigger than myself? I know I’m working towards something God-sized and God-ordained, but keeping my purpose at the focus of every step I take and every day I live is a daunting challenge. There are things deep inside of me that just want to help people and go places and live big. But all this school seems to pull me away from these dreams.

20140418-173339.jpg

And then today, I am confronted with the truth I knew was buried outside these books. After this girl, this sweet friend of mine, emailed me, saying she was praying for my next trip, I told her something too. Knowing that she was dying to leave this country just like me, I said “Hold on. You’ll be gone soon; I know it.” And then this morning a little message unpompously slipped into my inbox: “Thank you,” she had replied. “Thank you for the encouragement; I needed it.”

Then I realized it is the little things that will make these days count. And although I feel as if I’m drowning in this sea, I realize that I can find purpose. I can make a difference. I can make these days count. Even if it’s just to encourage one girl whose wishing she was far away too. Because it’s the little things that really make great differences. It starts with one small act of love, of encouragement, of grace. And it snowballs into this wonderful, beautiful life called sacrifice.

Don’t just pretend to love others. Really love them. . . Never be lazy, but work hard and serve the Lord enthusiastically. Rejoice in our confident hope. Be patient in trouble, and keep on praying. When God’s people are in need, be ready to help them. Romans 12:9, 11-13 NLT

Comment

