rejoicing Everyday.


We were encouraged to give of ourselves. We were told to forget the world and follow Christ instead. We were urged to place our self-made lives on the altar of God and never look back.

We were told and we failed.

Again. And again. And again.

Day, after day, after day.

Repentance became a daily ritual. Forgiveness was a gift in the past. Life became bitter.

We asked.
We asked.

We asked.

And we came back empty.

Defeated. Hurt. Disappointed.

On we walked, thinking our own thoughts, asking what went so wrong.

Wandering and wondering.

Aimless and pointless.

What had been the point, anyway, and where had we missed it?

And then we see it. Flashing across the bright blue sky. Driving away all the clouds of our rainy days.

It was called grace.

It was called Christ.

We failed. We fell. We folded. But He hugged us anyway. He held us, dirty, nude, and empty. No makeup. No face. No name. Writhing and dying in the pig stie of our own sin — this is what we were.

But you know what? We were. That is the point. We were, but now we aren’t; no, He is! His grace is! On the cross, He put away our shame, making us God’s children.

Holy. Free. Blameless.

And I am humbled.

In this fortunate turn of events, you ask me to be your friend.

You ask me to be your friend.

And so I worship again.

You, you are my first. You are my last. You are my future and my past.

I throw up my hands. I feel like dancing. And after a few days of tears, I find a smile in this thing called grace.

This thing called grace.

It keeps me humble. It keeps me moving and growing and learning. It keeps me focused, because I’d be so ADD about my life if it didn’t hang so close. And I am grateful.

It is the reason I can leave everyday rejoicing, worshipping the One who holds me.

Therefore let us draw near with confidence to the throne of grace, so that we may receive mercy and find grace to help in time of need.
Hebrews 4:16 NASB

Comment

