Gates of Pearl.


imageWith dust on my feet – dust on my feet and dust coming out my pores and dust ground beneath my nails – I’ll spend my twenty years with a people I love. We’ll grow as family and into family – giving and loving and being like family. God as my guide, I’ll meet them someday – and serve with all I am thereafter.

I don’t know and I can’t see. Not yet, but someday soon – in one of these days – God will lift the veil from my eyes, and I’ll have found my people. Down this path called life and around one of these bends, I’m going to see them. And you know what I’ll do? I’ll run head first toward them, and grab them and hold them so tight they won’t be able to breathe.

And it will be alright, because we’ll be family.

image

This – this fortieth trip in twenty years – this was special. And I’m so thankful I got to watch this woman and her people – her Christ-family. They differ in skin and differ in language and differ in being – but they are one in God through Christ Jesus. I thank Him for giving me insight on this dream for which I am waiting. Waiting and hoping and praying with a heart of expectancy, full of a simple joy in the Lord I serve.

image

Espero. Y estoy rezando.

I hope / I wait. And I’m praying.

When I serve, the obstacles will grow. The mountains will loom high. The hour will be desolate. Down this old narrow road, I’ll meet Opposition; he’s already waiting on me. But imageI have a secret weapon, and He is bigger than anything I’ll face. In His word I hope, knowing He’s good and believing He’ll triumph. The victory we’ll share is worth the price paid on the battlefield. Actually, I’ll run and meet the enemy, knowing the battle really is already won – knowing I’ll be able to celebrate beside my people, my family. We’ll be found dancing through gates of pearl one day.

I wait for the Lord, my soul waits, and in his word I hope; my soul waits for the Lord more than watchmen for the morning, more than watchmen for the morning.
Psalm 130:5, 6 ESV

image

image

Comment

