The Only Voice


When you give and give and give, you look around and find that you are the one most greatly blessed.

And I want to know what that feels like.image

I want to give not just of my purse, but of my heart, my time, my joy. . . I want to give my God. I want to share him with those I pass on the street corner and those I hug in the church. I want to share him with this one who doesn’t know what it is to hope.

I might get dirty.

I might smell like the sheep I pastor. I might find my bank empty. I might come out a little imagebruised, and maybe broken. And more than likely, I’ll be empty. I’ll have lost my life in the service of others.

But this heart will be full of joy and this life will bloom in the hand of God. Suddenly, nothing matters besides obedience – obedience out of love for a God who gave his all for me.

And when I get to the end of my days, which may be many years yet, I’ll be able to smile wide, with a heart full of joy, despite my scars. The obstacles won’t matter. The disappointments won’t speak. The only thing with a voice will be the one full of praise to my King.

“The thief comes only to steal and kill and destroy. I came that they may have life and have it abundantly. I am the good shepherd. The good shepherd lays down his life for the sheep. ” John 10:10, 11 ESV

image

3 thoughts on “The Only Voice

  1. Those comments sound a little like something I think Mother Theresa would have said. The neat thing is, you’re already doing that right where you are: giving, sharing, losing your heart and caring about others!

Comment

