Happy Rain.


20140204-203011.jpg

Anxiety and fear are hard feelings to penetrate. We believe that we can stay in God’s Word and say enough prayers to capture that peace which is beyond human understanding. But we can’t cultivate a mindset of serenity. Only God can do that.

Truthfully, I’ve been anxious. Everyday, I return to all the questions which surround uncertainties. And the pressure is overwhelming. I’ve prayed, but I find no release. I go and I search and I stumble through life-giving words, clinging to them for a handful of peace.

“Don’t worry about anything…”

“You keep him in perfect peace whose thoughts are fixed on you…”

“…Draw near to the throne of grace, that we may receive mercy and find grace to help in time of need.”

“…He will give you everything you need. Therefore do not be anxious about tomorrow, for tomorrow will be anxious for itself…”

But I can’t recite these words enough. The questions don’t subside and the pressure isn’t emancipated. I can’t seem to feel, or think, or believe what I should. I say the right things and pray the right prayers, but I’m still wandering through the mist of my own mind.

This week, I realized something. And it has given me the freedom to breathe.

There is no magic prayer to relieve distress. There’s no verse I can say to make me smile, or formula I can follow to liberate my fears. There is only God, and I can only cling tightly to his victorious right hand.

He did say that in his word.

“Don’t be afraid, for I am with you. Don’t be discouraged, for I am your God. I will strengthen you and help you. I will hold you up with my victorious right hand.”

To shake the distress, all we have to do is come to Jesus.

We boldly approach the throne of grace. We abide in his vine. We quietly sit on his lap. We wait, we pray, we listen.

And then we find he is enough. Simply entering his presence means peace. He’ll provide the words when we need them, and he’ll make known his promises as we need them. The questions won’t stop coming and the pressure won’t always ebb away. But we’ll find that peace which is unexplainable.

When life gets overwhelming, and the pressure is surmounting, he rests on us like a happy rain.

Verses are from:

1. Philippians 4:6
2. Isaiah 26:3
3. Hebrews 4:16
4. Matthew 6:33, 34
5. Isaiah 41:10

4 thoughts on “Happy Rain.

Comment

