Afternoon in Autumn.


20131106-135004.jpgRushing across the earth, the wind rubs against my ears. My hair flys away from my face, in search of wonder and a pair of wings, which are both readily supplied. I want to run away and grab a plaid flannel blanket for a picnic with only the wind for company, and maybe a time-worn book. Above my head, the clear blue sky sings of happy, bright days. My heart longs to rise with it and feel the thrill of being on top of all things. The sound of a squirrel brings me back to brisk earth. He is scuttling about, seeking food for the coming winter months. As they descend to the ground below, golden leaves dance in the air, delighting in the wind and the last day of life. My eyes wander up into the graveyard, full of venerable grey stones. They stand erect, clothed with the beauty of faded years. As they share stories with each other, they reveal what it means to live and die happily.

Today, I realize that life doesn’t depend on feelings. I know that the horizon holds the promise of a new, brighter day, even though my emotions forecast a future bleak like a winter evening. Past all the death and dying of now, I can see life. It floods my being even here, in today. I know that I can rise, on wings like eagles, and feel you close to me no matter the weather of my spirit. Through the desolate days of wintertime, I will know that you will be here, at my side for all time.

I find hope and joy, as well as myself, in the quietness of an afternoon in autumn.

Those who trust in the Lord will find new strength.
They will soar high on wings like eagles.
They will run and not grow weary.
They will walk and not faint.

Isaiah 40:31 NLT

-Christianna

One thought on “Afternoon in Autumn.

Comment

