only you.


I sit in darkness,
Chin propped on knee,
And I think of you.
Somehow,
It’s easier to meet with you in the darkness,
In the quiet and loneliness.
As my eyes start burning,
My heart catches fire too.

I love you.

You are the force behind my life,
The element that makes up my being.
And I long to see you again,
To hear your soft, loving words.
I wish I could train my roaring mind to find quiet,
So I might find you.
Will you come and find me tonight?

This might sound too much like a sick love letter to some.
So it is, I say.
You are the only one in whom I am truly interested.
My heart cries out for communion with you,
My soul longs to be more like you.
And yet somehow I find myself slipping away.
Please pull me back in again.
Quiet me with your song.
Let’s go and rediscover that place which we alone know.
I want to find you.

When I venture here,
In your arms,
I find that you truly are all that I need.
It is here, in the unknown,
The secret, the forbidden,
The intimate,
That I realize the world isn’t so loud after all.
You are stronger, brighter,
Than any thought they could ever think of me.
Suddenly, they do not matter any longer.
It is truly only you.
And I rejoice, knowing that I belong to you,
That your name alone is inscribed on my heart.
Who else could care for me so well?

So here I am,
Sitting in darkness.
Tonight,
There is warmth inside it.
And this brings light into my heart,
Only because of you.

The Lord is my shepherd;
I have all that I need.
He lets me lie down in green meadows;
He leads me beside peaceful streams.
He renews my strength.
He guides me along right paths,
Bringing honor to his name.

Even when I walk through the darkest valley,
I will not be afraid,
for you are close beside me

Psalm 23:1-4

4 thoughts on “only you.

  1. Christianna, you are an artist who uses words to paint beautiful, peaceful pictures! This has such depth for someone your age. You are amazing……..

Comment

