I Won’t Stop.


Everyone else might’ve forgotten you. But I haven’t. I can’t. It might have been their 3rd, 4th or even 38th mission trip, all of which produced many friends. But this was only my first. And I still want to be with you. I wish I could tell you how my heart aches some days when I see you in my mind’s eye only as a snapshot. I want you to be in front of me, alive, active, and free as you were when we played together. Everyone else might’ve forgotten. But I haven’t. Not yet.

Nicaragua 2013 690Nicaragua 2013 722

I wish I could tell you that I want to be there. I wish I could’ve told you how much I didn’t want to leave. I hope you realized this in my tears the day we had to say goodbye. I hope you know I haven’t left you totally abandoned. . . Everyday, I pray for each of you as your face comes to the forefront of my mind. I want you to know that God loves you so terribly much. That is the only thing that matters, and that is the only thing worth holding onto. I’m learning this too.

Nicaragua 2013 992Nicaragua 2013 1080

I wish I could come back. I wish I could return and find myself surrounded by all of your smiling faces, and maybe get some hugs. But I can’t. I can’t even tell you how much I still care. But you know what? It’s going to be okay. I pray that we will see each other in heaven someday. I wish, more than anything else, that I could have confidence in this.  But since I can’t, I won’t stop praying for you. Never.

-CJ

Nicaragua 2013 1019

Call to me and I will answer you and

tell you great and unsearchable things you do not know.

-Jeremiah 33:3

Now all glory to God, who is able, through his mighty power at work within us,

to accomplish infinitely more than we might ask or think [or do ourselves].

-Ephesians 3:20

 Nicaragua 2013 1038

Never stop praying.

-1 Thessalonians 4:17

One thought on “I Won’t Stop.

Comment

