Invaded by Light


I will sometimes wonder what my life would be like without God. What could I say to a sick or desperate friend? What encouragement could I give to one who has given up on life? What love could I offer to one without any?

The truth is, I wouldn’t posses any of these things, so I couldn’t give them away either. I would have no encouragement, hope, or love without Jesus Christ. My life would be very dark indeed. Even wanting to give something to another would be absurd. I would be so busy trying to fill the void in my empty soul that serving another wouldn’t even be a thought of mine. I would be so full of darkness and filth that my insides would forever ache. I would scorn each new day. I wouldn’t have any happy memories or sweet days to cling to. Life apart from Christ would just plain stink.

I know, because I’ve been there.

Now, though, I have light. My soul has found warmth and life after I washed away my filth in Christ’s red river. I’ve found love. Warm, real, love. Not the kind in movies or songs, but genuine, self-sacrificing love. You can’t find that anywhere else. I’ve found grace to cover me in my foolishness. Every time I turn around from my ugly actions, God is there, not only to forgive me, but to embrace me. That’s grace. He’s called me to be his precious daughter, when I deserved more than a cruel death.

I’ve found Jesus. Or rather, he found me.

One of my friends told her story to the whole church and her words echo my heart as well. This is how she summed it up: “These are the words of my testimony. I’ve been covered by the blood of the Lamb.”

I’m consumed and sinking in it. I would still be where I was without it.

Christ invaded my darkness.

“The people who walk in darkness have seen a great light. For those who live in a land of deep darkness, a light will shine.” -Isaiah 9:2

All glory to the Bright Light forever! He’s all that I have, and all that I will ever need.

Thank you, Jesus, thank you. Thank you for taking my sin upon yourself. Thank you for giving me freedom from my nastiness by dying on the cross. Thank you for listening to me, for taking time to spend on and with me everyday. Your amazing, my Savior, and I really couldn’t imagine my life without you. I love you.

Christianna

BlogBooster-The most productive way for mobile blogging. BlogBooster is a multi-service blog editor for iPhone, Android, WebOs and your desktop

One thought on “Invaded by Light

Comment

