God’s Promise


If you don’t know me, I so long to leave the States for good and fly far away to Africa. I struggle with being patient while God prepares me for the mission field. Everyday, I must remind myself that God has plans and purposes for my life, even while I am stuck here. Its best explained as running through a desert. I am dry and cracked, thirsty for purpose, while I misc 074run through the sand, seemingly going no where, no matter how hard I push on. However, God is faithful. He’s provided a well for my thirsty soul. Her name is Selina.

This girl and I  hit it off at an alarming rate, because God made us to do so. He knew that we needed each other at this point in our lives and so after spending a little time together, we are now best friends. I don’t like it when people say they are bffs after 6 months of knowing each other, but its just that way with Selina and I. Anyone who knows us even a little will agree. Its crazy, the connection we have, but God just works like that. Its even hard to explain, but it is something that I’ve wanted for a long time. We laugh, we cry, we hug, wephoto 3 share, we encourage, we give, but above all, we really love. Its unlike anything I’ve felt before now.

Selina makes my life sweet when it could potentially be very bitter. On my rough days, she reminds me what I am living for, even here, in the States. She shows me that God provides for his children, even when it feels like he is far away. She’s my kalkidan,* because she reminds me every time I see her sweet face that God keeps his promises.

I’m not sure what God has planned for us in the future, but I know that I am grateful she’s with me now.

I love you, sweet Selina. Never doubt.(: Trust in God, even when its difficult, photo 1for he always has a plan. Remember that he has purposes for your life that you won’t even know about until heaven. When its dark, remember that the sun is coming up, just around the corner. Seek his face, in all that you do, and let everything else go; he’s all that matters! Search for him when you don’t feel him close, because you’ll always reap benefits from that. Its so amazing to have God as a best friend! Thank you so much, for being my closest friend. I love you!

“A friend is always loyal, and a brother is born to help in time of need.” –Proverbs 17:17

photo 4“Two people are better off than one for they can help each other succeed. If one person falls, the other can reach out and help. But someone who falls alone is in real trouble. . . A person standing alone can be attacked and defeated, but two can stand back-to-back and conquer. Three are even better, for a triple-braided cord is not easily broken.” – Ecclesiastes 4:9, 10, 12

*In her country, Selina’s name is ‘Kalkidan,’ which means ‘promise.’

Comment

