Cleaning Before Spring


My life is like our church right now. Every closet, drawer, and cabinet is disorganized – crammed full of junk I don’t need. I’ve asked God to come and clean up my clutter, but now I’m upset. He’s got his gigantic, trash can-sized black bag out and he wants to go through everything and fill it up. He’s now in a room, getting rid of everything I’m still clinging to. I’m stressed and worn out from life and now he’s asking me to give this all to him. How could he? How could he take this away, replace it with something new, and expect me to figure out how it fits in my life all on my own? Doesn’t he know I can’t deal with this right now?

While I wail and complain, I read the passage inscribed on the front of my journal. “Delight yourself in the Lord,” it says, “and he will give you the desires of your heart.” You’re not doing that very well, are you, God? I’m delighting in your presence; I really am. I have been for the last 2 weeks and instead of giving me my heart’s desires, you take them completely away!

As I sit down to discuss all this with you, my eyes open up. You remind me that I asked for you to come clean up my life. The way I’m living isn’t working with what you’ve called me to. I’ve got old junk that doesn’t go with the new plans you’ve put into effect in my life. You’re making me into the person you’ve designed me to be as your child. I’ve asked for your help and now you’re giving it to me. Here; I’ll take the trash bag and hold it wide open so you can take all this nasty, old, unclean garbage that fills my life and dispose of it. I know it’s going to take awhile and cause me some pain, but I want to be transformed into the person you have hidden in my heart. Take out this old crap and place inside me new dreams that are of you. I know you can take this eroding system and work it into something beautiful so here, I’m giving it to you. Take this life and create it to be a manifestation of your love.

“Trust in the Lord and do good…
Take delight in the Lord,
And he will give you
Your heart’s desires.
Commit everything you do
To the Lord.
Trust him,
And he will help you.”
-Psalm 37:3-5

And so, dear brothers and sisters,
I plead with you to give your bodies to God
Because of all he has done for you.
Let them be a holy and living sacrifice –
The kind he will find acceptable.
This is truly the way to worship him.
Do not copy the behavior and customs of this world,
But let God transform you into a new person by changing the way you think.
Then you will learn to know God’s will for you
Which is good, pleasing and perfect.”
-Romans 12:1,2

“For we are God’s masterpiece. He created us anew in Christ Jesus, so we can do the good things he planned for us long ago.”
-Ephesians 2:10asaa

BlogBooster-The most productive way for mobile blogging. BlogBooster is a multi-service blog editor for iPhone, Android, WebOs and your desktop

One thought on “Cleaning Before Spring

Comment

