I am Ready


When the world is quiet, you’re all I hear. When I stand silent, its your voice that I detect. Amidst the craziness of life, all I want is to lie in your arms. my eyes fill with tears as I gaze across the chasm that separates us. I try to speak, but your name is all that I can utter. I try to grasp your hand, but its beyond my reach. I cry out to you, knowing that you’re listening, even when I can’t feel your breath. I feel broken and destroyed; my spirit is crushed, and I have no where else to go.

Yet, you are there. The shadow of your wings falls over my face. I lift my eyes, hoping for a glimpse of your loving gaze. You pick me up and hold me close, hiding me from the troubles I face. In your presence, I am restored. Through the power of your embrace, I stand up again.

I know the problem; I see the source of our separation. You’ve called me to higher places, to a better resting ground, but I will not move. The way is hard and its laden with fears. I know you’ll be with me, but still, my feet will not budge. In my ear, you whisper encouragement, telling me that I am ready to move. You’ve placed inside me the power to fight off evil; I have no reason to tremble. You’ve given me all that I need to overcome and rise to the place you’ve called me to.

I whisper into the still air, “I am ready.” I say it once more, finding myself becoming convinced of it. Again, I say it, now with more vigor. I am ready! Finding my voice hanging in the dense air, I look around and see that the light has departed; your presence is no more. All that remains is a dark room with a bleak atmosphere.

I sigh allowed, wondering if what I had just muttered was true; was I prepared? Could I overcome the challenges ahead? Again, I sigh, but this time with resignation. This is it; I can do this.  I take the first step. The way is dark, but my heart is light. Its filled with terrors, but I am filled with peace. Its mighty beast have come to conquer, but I have more might than they could ever muster. God is on my side; he will always be with me! None can overtake him, and so they can’t pin me down either. I push on with new resolve. I can do this.

“I am ready.”

In my distress, I prayed to the Lord, and the Lord answered me and set me free. The Lord is for me, so I will have no fear.What can mere people do to me? Yes, the Lord is for me: he will help me. I will look in triumph at all who hate me.  –Psalm 118:5-7

-christianna

One thought on “I am Ready

  1. Once again, i am amazed at how deep this is and how it makes me examine myself to see the places in me where I haven’t given Him everything!! And then find myself crying out to be willing to see, change, and be fulfilled only in Him!!!!!

Comment

