Higher Standards


I was at my grandma’s house, watching TV, late one night, when I came upon a show my family sometimes views. Its kind of like AFV only the show hosts include a bunch of big name people I haven’t heard of before. Its funny, though not my favorite, but I watched it anyway, not really caring at one in the morning. As the show progressed, it go worse as the people began to crack dirty jokes about bad videos. I was forced to turn it off and head up to bed.

As I climbed the stairs to the room designated for me, God started working in my heart. I began to tremble, recalling the things I had just seen and heard. What kind of junk was this? Then I got to thinking about the immorality this ensued. No, I really wasn’t participating in any immoral activity, but because I was accepting it, it was immoral for me. The verse from one of the Timothys popped into my head over and over again. It talks about pursuing righteousness and doing away with all immoral and wicked things. God moved in me so much I found myself seated on the floor with my face to the ground. I cried out to him to remove from me the nastiness inside my heart because of the junk I was allowing to corrupt my life. “Create in me, a clean heart, O God,” my heart cried. “Renew a loyal spirit within me.”*

Then I got to thinking about how God said over and over again in Exodus he was a jealous God. I was letting something else take over my life, and for what reason? There wasn’t one! Jesus was jealous for me, my heart, my time, my life, and here I was, in the act of giving it all away to something disgusting and useless.

You see, when Christ comes into our lives, he calls us to higher standards than those of the world. Even if we aren’t saying or doing the things the rest of the world is, and if we accept them as okay, we are wrong. Its immoral because we are craving something other than God. He is jealous for us, and if he truly has taken over our hearts, we cannot let ourselves be rebellious and turn back to the ways of the world like the Israelites did. Now granted, there are times when we watch or listen to things, like I did, that shouldn’t be accepted, but remember, there is always forgiveness. When there is a little nudge inside of us, however, to stop watching that, or stop doing this, we need to listen, because if we don’t, slowly, the ground will shift in our hearts and Jesus will fall away.

These higher standards are found in Jesus. Anytime we are unsure of whether a certain thing should be accepted, we can just ask ourselves, ‘Would Jesus do this? Would he watch that?’ I really don’t think Jesus would be watching any TV if he lived as a human in this era, but still, these questions will help.

Remember, Jesus is jealous for you. He wants the best for you, and this means giving up stuff sometimes. It hurts, but God has called us to more than this. He wants us to rise above it all, so we can someday meet him.

For the Lord is a God who is jealous about his relationship with you.”

-Exodus 34:14

 

Run from anything that stimulates youthful lusts. Instead, pursue righteous living, faithfulness, love, and peace.”

-2 Timothy 2:22

So humble yourselves before God. Resist the devil and he will flee from you. Come close to God and he will come close to you. Wash your hands, you sinners; purify your hearts, because your loyalty is divided between God and the world. Let there be tears for what you have done…Humble yourselves before the Lord, and he will lift you up in honor.

-James 4:7-10

*Psalm 51:10

4 thoughts on “Higher Standards

  1. I absolutely loved this!!! Reminds me of how easy it is to let a little leaven in and before you know the whole thing is polluted. You are an inspiration!!! Luv you lots!!!! And I’m so proud of you!!

Comment

