Misfit.


Randomly last night, I thought of Herbie in “Rudolf the Red Nose Reindeer’ (don’t ask me why my brain works the way it does; I suppose I can blame it on my father). He was the elf who wanted to be a dentist, unlike any of the other elves. He sang a song that said something like, “why am I such a misfit?”

A lot of times, I can relate extremely well with Herbie. I, however, have no desire to pull teeth. Instead, I want to be a missionary.

I feel really out of place when some of my closest friends talk about going to Paris someday and living a block away from the Eiffel Tower. In comparison to them, Africa seems stupid. To me, it is super exciting, however. I just never feel right talking about it with them. It hurts really deeply sometimes, especially when they are the closest friends I have.

God encourages me in times like these. He sends me people to help, like my dad, or my youth pastors, who show me that living the life God has planned for me is worth the pain right now.

I know God will see me through when it gets tough, and maybe even hook me up with a band of misfits, like Rudolf and Herbie. All I know is that I can’t wait to be in Africa, where Paris holds no meaning and nothing will be able to take away the feeling of fulfillment in my heart.

2 Thess. 1:11
We keep on praying for you, asking our God to enable you to live a life worthy of His call. May He give you the power to accomplish all the good things your faith prompts you to do.

BlogBooster-The most productive way for mobile blogging. BlogBooster is a multi-service blog editor for iPhone, Android, WebOs and your desktop

Comment

