Truly My Best Friend


Psalm 18:1, 2

I love you, Lord; you are my strength. The Lord is my rock, my fortress, and my savior; my God is my rock, in whom I find protection. He is my shield, the power that saves me, and my place of safety.

I think this just might be my favorite passage in the Bible right now.

It really comforts me because I know that in and of myself, I will never get it all right. I will mess up. I will fail. I will fall down. I will be crushed. I will get hurt. But, though I fail and though the waters roar all around, God is there for me. No matter how mighty the storm is, and no matter how many times I fail Him, Jesus Christ will always be there for me.

I can’t say that about anyone else. I can’t be sure that they will always stick around, that they will be there when I need help. I can’t say that if I fail them, treat them wrong, and screw them up, that they are still going to be my friend and love me anyway.

Yet God does this for me each and everyday. He loves me, even when I don’t love Him. He loves me, when I just can’t take life anymore and I run away from Him. He will love me, when I don’t do as He says and as He calls me to.

When I can trust no one in this world; when everything is spinning out of control; when life just isn’t going as plan; when the road gets tough, God will be there.

When I have no more strength, when the battle rages, when my life is crushed, God will be there and He will save me.

Nothing can assure me like that does. And no one will be beside me like He will. And no one can ultimately be the best friend that I need besides Jesus Christ.

Thank You, Jesus. Thank You for putting up with me, or rather, loving me, even now after I have done so many things against You and Your Word. Thank You, for being here with me constantly and for loving me anyway.

I love you, Lord; you are my strength. The Lord is my rock, my fortress, and my savior; my God is my rock, in whom I find protection. He is my shield, the power that saves me and my place of safety.

-CJ

9 thoughts on “Truly My Best Friend

  1. Lovely. I am so encouraged by this- I’m about to go into my 2nd year of studying law in Uni and I really want to make a first class. I know if I depend only on my own strength, I will fail. Your post truly reminded me that without God, I am nothing and I cannot do anything meaningful without his guidance. Thanks :)

Comment

