Worthless


Yes, everything is worthless compared to the infinite value of knowing Christ Jesus, my Lord.

-Philippians 3:8a

Wow. What more can I say?

There is a little story behind this, though. I tried writing this Thursday, and when I got it done, I pushed delete instead of publish. It made me so mad cause it was a really good blog too. And then yesterday we went shopping. I really needed some shorts and shoes so we went thrifting first and when we couldn’t find anything, we went to T.J. Maxx. They had absolutely no shorts there, but a ton of really cute shoes. And I found the perfect ones which fit my unusually large feet and were what I was looking for in style. Then I looked at the price tag.

Now one thing you must understand about me is that I’m picky about what I wear. Don’t ask me why; I just am and really wish I weren’t. But I am, so when I mean these were the perfect shoes, they were the PERFECT shoes. And they would match all of my outfits. One other thing to also note is that rarely do I find a pair of shoes that I love and are in my size. And that aren’t too expensive, but usually that isn’t a problem. Except yesterday.

Immediately, tears welled up in my eyes (I’m not joking!) and my whole day was suddenly ruined. Then Mom said to me, “What about those kids of yours? Do you think they get the shoes they want all the time?” I looked down at my wore-out flip-flops. Yes, she was right. Actually, many of them wore things like the rubber sandals I had on my feet then. Or maybe no shoes at all.

I thought of the verse I quoted at the beginning, knowing that their lives were much more important than any old pair of shoes, even the perfect ones.

All through the day, it just rang in my head, and I felt ashamed. I wanted Jesus to be enough, and me not to long for the latest trends and cutest fashions. I wanted Jesus to be my everything. I knew in my heart that I longed for more than just him, and it hurt me to think so.

I once thought that these things were valuable, but now I consider them worthless because of what Christ has done. Yes, everything is worthless compared to the infinite value of knowing Christ Jesus, my Lord. For his sake, I discard everything, counting it all as garbage, so that I could gain Christ and become one with him.

-Philippians 3:7-9a

EVERYTHING is worthless. Everything. Jesus is all that matters. Why don’t we try and live like that?

-C.J.

6 thoughts on “Worthless

  1. Phil. 3:10 in the Amplified Bible is one of my favourite Scriptures: “(For my determined purpose is) that I might know Him, that I may progressively become more deeply and intimately acquainted with Him…” Good post!

  2. Thank you so much for the gentle reminder. What wonderful words of wisdom. You never cease to amaze me when you put a pen in your hand. Sometimes I forget how precious the relationship I have with Jesus is. Thank you for sharing!!

Comment

