Listen Close


I was reading my Bible yesterday and I felt the need to turn to one of my favorite verses, Romans 12:1. I was stunned at what I read. Of course, this verse I knew by heart and had read it many times before. But what I saw this time was so different than what I had previously read. No, I hadn’t accidentally looked in another book by accident. The verse itself was the same; the way I saw it was different. It says:

And so dear brothers and sisters, I plead with you to give your bodies to God because all he has done for you. Let them be living and holy sacrifices–the kind He will find acceptable. This is truly the way to worship Him.

Now, you might say that there is only one way to interpret this verse, but I think not. See at first, what I saw is probably what you thought about the verse–that you should give up yourself to God so that you can truly live for Him, or something along those lines. Now I feel as if it is much more than that. You see, it’s not just giving up ourselves. When we lay down what’s comfortable and pleasing to us, something that makes us feel good, we can ultimately see Jesus much more clearer and we can begin to actually look like Him in all His glory. Like I said, it’s not just laying down self, it’s living like Christ.

In light of this, I encourage you to look closely at Scripture and look at it from different point of views so that you might get the whole message. Read the Bible and remember it’s God’s Word. When your daddy says something, you don’t sit there and not listen, do you? Listen closely to what God is telling you, so that he might be able to change your life.

-C.J.

One thought on “Listen Close

  1. I love hearing from you!! Keep on making me think and do some soul searching. THere’s always somthing new we can get out of the same old verses we read if we allow the Holy Spirit to talk to us. Love ya lots!!!!

Comment

